E.U imposes travel restrictions again.

Dallas Howard, Writer

The European Union has changed their safe list and it should become official very soon.  The E.U.’s safe list includes countries outside the 27-member block. This change on the safe list is set to include several countries such as Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and The United States.  This does not mean these countries are completely barred from travel, but it does mean they will impose restrictions on travelers to these countries.


To qualify for the safe travel list, countries must have fewer than 75 new Covid-19 cases daily per 100,000 inhabitants for a span of 2 weeks.  This particular requirement disqualified the U.S.  for the safe list, due to skyrocketing case numbers in August.


Some of the countries being advised to impose such travel restrictions are: France, Italy, and Germany.  Those three, along with 24 other countries can, even with the recommendations of the E.U, make their own decisions to allow non-essential travel on an individual basis.


According to the CDC about 74.2% of adults in the U.S. have at least one vaccination which may help to lessen the travel restrictions to and from the U.S.  Despite the vaccinations, the Delta variant of Covid-19 had caused cases to increase exponentially to a number not seen since winter of 2020.