Team USA Brings the Ryder Cup Back to Home Soil

Miranda Miller, Co-Editor In Chief

The Ryder Cup is a men’s golf competition between the teams of Europe and the United States.  The tournament is held biannually and is held in different golf courses throughout both Europe and the United States.  This year’s 43rd Ryder Cup began on Friday, September 24, 2021, until Sunday, September 26, 2021.  It was held at the Whistling Straits Golf Course in Sheboygan County, Wisconsin.  

The Team USA roster consisted of some of the newer, younger starts on the PGA Tour.  Team USA was made up of Daniel Berger, Patrick Cantlay, Bryson DeChambeau, Harris English, Tony Finau, Dustin Johnson, Brooks Koepka, Collin Morikawa, Xander Schauffele, Scottie Scheffler, Jordan Spieth, and Justin Thomas.  The captain of the team, Steve Stricker, worked alongside vice-captains Fred Couples, Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson, Davis Love III, and Phil Mickelson.  

The Team Europe roster had some firepower of its own, with some crafty veterans onboard, and consisted of John Rahm, Tommy Fleetwood, Tyrell Hatton, Bernd Weisberger, Rory McIlroy, Viktor Hovland, Paul Casey, Matt Fitzpatrick, Lee Westwood.  Team captain Padraig Harrington, worked with vice-captains Luke Donald, Martin Kaymer, Robert Karlsson, Graeme McDowell, and Henrik Stenson.  

Within the Ryder Cup, there are three different types of matches played: four-ball, foursomes, and singles.  Each of these matches is played through 18-holes and the team with the lowest score earns a point for their team.  Each player plays three holes in each event.  However, if the teams tie, they each receive a half-point.  The four-ball match is played between two two-man teams and each player plays out the entirety of the hole and the teams take the lowest score out of the two balls in play.  The foursome match is played by two two-man teams and the two players on each team alternate every shot until the hole is finished.  The singles match is played by one player from each team and they play a normal round of golf.

Team USA won 19-9, beating Team Europe with the largest victory margin in the history of the event.  Going into Sunday’s match, Team USA was in the lead 11-5.  Team USA member Dustin Johnson ended this Ryder Cup undefeated with a 5-0-0 overall, scoring a 2-0-0 in foursomes, 2-0-0 in four-ball, and 1-0-0 in singles.  This accomplishment has only been made four times and the last player to do it was Larry Nelson in 1979. 

Team USA Scores

  • Dustin Johnson: 5-0-0
  • Collin Morikawa: 3-0-1
  • Patrick Cantlay: 3-0-1
  • Xander Schauffele:3-1-0
  • Bryson DeChambeau: 2-0-1
  • Scottie Scheffler: 2-0-1
  • Justin Thomas: 2-1-1
  • Daniel Berger: 2-1-0
  • Brooks Koepka: 2-2-0
  • Jordan Spieth: 1-2-1
  • Tony Finau: 1-2-0
  • Harris English: 1-2-0

European Team

  • John Rahm: 3-1-1
  • Sergio Garcia: 3-1-0
  • Tyrrell Hatton: 1-2-1
  • Shane Lowry: 1-2-0
  • Ian Poulter: 1-2-0
  • Lee Westwood: 1-2-0
  • Rory McIlroy: 1-3-0
  • Viktor Hovland: 0-3-2
  • Tommy Fleetwood: 0-1-2
  • Matt Fitzpatrick: 0-3-0
  • Bernd Wiesberger: 0-3-0
  • Paul Casey: 0-4-0

This victory for Team USA brings the Ryder Cup back to home soil.  The next Ryder Cup championship will be held in 2023 at the Marco Simone Golf and Country Club in Rome, Italy.